Right down to the text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Functionality

  1. Editions module

    The editions module allows for different witnesses to be presented next to one another in parallel within one synopsis.

    Screenshot

    Moreover, the requested witnesses can be connected in any order, positioned on two levels and can then be compared to one another. It’s possible to see from the overview which witnesses do or do not contain the currently opened verse. The combinations or views created in this way can be permanently stored for personal use, or can be shared with others via a dedicated URL (button “share view”).

    By positioning the cursor on any passage of the text a coloured bar marks the corresponding verses. When clicking a verse number a focus line appears, positioning all given texts for this one verse on the same level, while the previous or subsequent verses may be in a different order, depending on the witness and the passage.

    Screenshot

    Buttons for selecting the text display can be found in the top right section of the screen.

    Screenshot

    After activating transcription the texts are shown as manuscript transcriptions without any kind of intervention. When choosing the option edition all editorial changes are accepted (e.g. graphic regularisations, punctuation, expansion of abbreviations, corrections). The button custom settings enables personal settings of these options. More details here.

  2. Codex display

    The codex display is accessible via the manuscript overview. Choose the individual manuscript and scroll down within the digitized object. The digitized facsimile is either accompanied by transcriptions or editorial annotations.

    To view the transcription of a manuscript, please activate the tab “transcription”. You can also press the button “transcription” within the activated tab “facsimile” and position the transcription in the popup-window directly next to the image of the chosen page.

    The text display options are identical with the ones in the synoptic edition with the additional display option for physical line numbers.

  3. Full-text search

    At the moment it is possible to search within the transcription of a manuscript, including for abbreviations and their expansions. A search function for phrases that go beyond expanded abbreviations is in preparation. Footnotes can be searched separately.

  4. Annotations

    In addition, the digitized manuscripts can be annotated. Annotations can be added using a convenient web form and are marked with the name of the author, so they can be clearly referenced and are therefore citable. Corrections can be viewed by a revision control, which means that at any time earlier versions can be displayed. The data model for the application is provided by the „Open Annotation Collaboration Model (OAC Model)”. The relevant areas of text in the digital facsimile can be referenced with freehand drawing of a polygon. Using the annotations, semantic links to external sources can also be created.

  5. Technology

    The production and presentation of the digitized items is achieved by using the workflow programme DWork. which was developed in Heidelberg. The relevant industry standards are observed during the process of digitizing and presentation in the Internet, (e.g. METS/MODS), as documented by the German Research Foundation (DFG) in the current edition of “Best practice for digitizing”, or which have established themselves as a transfer format (e.g. IIIF). In this way the digitized items are made freely available worldwide via a clear and easily understandable interface. The citing of whole volumes or individual pages is possible using DOIs (Digital Object Identifier), and a digital table of contents aids quick access to individual sections. The volumes are available as PDF downloads, and thanks to Responsive Design it is also possible to use the service conveniently on mobile devices.

    The technical basis for the editions module is provided by the XML-database eXist. The transcription and edition templates are transferred in XML-based TEI format (Text Encoding Initiative).

Direkt zum Text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Funktionalität

  1. Edition

    Das Editionsmodul erlaubt es, verschiedene Textzeugen parallel nebeneinander in einer Synopse zu präsentieren. Dazu können die gewünschten Textzeugen über die entsprechenden Buttons hinzu- oder weggeschaltet werden.

    Screenshot

    Die Texte können in beliebiger Reihenfolge in zwei Ebenen positioniert und anschließend miteinander verglichen werden. Bereits aus der Übersicht ist zu erkennen, in welchen Textzeugen der gerade aufgeschlagene Vers enthalten bzw. nicht enthalten ist. Die so erzeugten Zusammenstellungen/Sichten können dann für die eigene Nutzung persistent gespeichert oder mit anderen über eine dedizierte URL geteilt werden (Button „Ansicht teilen“).

    Bei der Positionierung des Cursors über einer beliebigen Textstelle zeigt ein farbiger Balken die einander entsprechenden Verse an. Beim Anklicken einer Verszahl erscheint eine Fokuszeile, die alle angezeigten Texte für diesen einen Vers auf gleiche Höhe stellt, während die Verse davor oder danach je nach Zeugnis und Textstelle in einer anderen Reihenfolge stehen können.

    Screenshot

    Im rechten oberen Bildschirmbereich befinden sich Buttons zur Auswahl der Textdarstellung.

    Screenshot

    Bei Aktivierung von Transkription werden die Texte als Handschriftentranskriptionen gezeigt, ohne jeglichen Eingriff. Durch die Option Edition werden sämtliche editorischen Eingriffe übernommen (graphische Regularisierungen, Zeichensetzung, Auflösung von Kürzeln, Korrekturen). Der Button Eigene Einstellungen ermöglicht eine persönliche Einstellung dieser Optionen. Dazu im Detail hier.

  2. Codexansicht

    Über die Handschriftenübersicht ist die Codexansicht erreichbar. Wählen Sie die entsprechende Handschrift und blättern Sie im Digitalisat. Dem digitalen Faksimile werden wahlweise die Transkription oder die editorische Anmerkungen zur Seite gestellt.

    Um die Transkription einer Handschrift anzuzeigen, aktivieren Sie den Reiter „Transkription“. Sie können auch im aktivierten Reiter „Faksimile“ den Button „Transkription“ drücken und die in einem Popup-Fenster sich öffnende Transkription direkt neben das Bild der ausgewählten Seite stellen.

    Die Optionen der Textdarstellung sind dieselben wie in der synoptischen Edition, mit der zusätzlichen Option der Anzeige physischer Zeilennummern.

  3. Volltextsuche

    Aktuell ist es möglich, innerhalb der Transkriptionen der Handschriften (auch nach Abkürzungen und deren Auflösung) zu suchen. Eine Phrasensuche über (aufgelöste) Abkürzungen hinweg ist in Vorbereitung. Innerhalb der Fußnoten kann gesondert gesucht werden.

  4. Annotationen

    Die Digitalisate der Handschriften können darüber hinaus annotiert werden. Jede Annotation, die über ein komfortables Webeingabeformular angebracht werden kann, ist mit dem Namen ihres Urhebers versehen, und ist eindeutig referenzierbar und damit zitierfähig. Korrekturen sind über eine Versionierung möglich, so dass jederzeit frühere Versionen einsehbar sind. Als Datenmodell für die Applikation fungiert das „Open Annotation Collaboration Model (OAC Model)”. Die entsprechenden Textzonen im digitalen Faksimile können über frei zeichenbare Polygone referenziert werden. Über die Annotationen können so auch semantische Verknüpfungen auf externe Objekte erstellt werden.

  5. Technik

    Die Produktion und Präsentation der Handschriften-Digitalisate erfolgt über das in Heidelberg entwickelte Workflowprogramm DWork. Dabei werden bei der Digitalisierung und der Internetpräsentation die derzeit gültigen Standards (z.B. METS/MODS), die auch in der aktuellen Fassung der „Praxisregeln Digitalisierung“ der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) dokumentiert sind oder die sich als Austauschformat etabliert haben (z.B. IIIF), eingehalten. So werden die Digitalisate über eine übersichtliche und schnell nachvollziehbare Oberfläche weltweit frei zugänglich angeboten. Über DOIs (digital object identifier) ist das Zitieren ganzer Bände oder einzelner Seiten möglich und ein digitales Inhaltsverzeichnis erlaubt den schnellen Zugriff auf Einzelabschnitte. Die Bände stehen als PDF-Download zur Verfügung, eine bequeme Nutzung auch auf mobilen Geräten ist dank Responsive Design möglich.

    Technische Basis für das Editionsmodul ist die XML-Datenbank eXist. Die Transkriptionen und deren editorische Anreicherung wurden im XML-basierten TEI-Format (Text Encoding Initiative) durchgeführt.