Right down to the text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Stampati Palatini

Due to its significance for Protestant theologians as an intellectual ‚armoury’ , Heidelberg's collection became a target for the Catholic opposition during The Thirty Years’ War. Pope Gregory XV (acting, 1621-1623) aimed to incorporate the collection into the Vatican Library. The siege of Heidelberg by the armies of the Catholic League in Autumn 1622 set the stage for achieving this aim. After reviewing the complete library collection, the papal emissary Leo Allatius sent approximately 3,700 manuscripts and 13,000 printed books to Rome, where they arrived in August 1623. With the exception of a relatively small number of German-language manuscripts, which returned to Heidelberg in 1816 after the peace negotiations at the Congress of Vienna, nearly all non-German texts, in particular the Latin and Greek manuscripts and all printed books (stampati palatini) in the collection, are now part of the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana in Rome. Enrico Stevenson published a two-volume inventory of the Stampati Palatini in 1886.

The book collection covers the most important titles on science and fiction of the 16th and early 17th century. While academic literature for university studies and teaching had been collected since the foundation of the University in 1386, works of important contemporary scholars were first added in the 17th century. Jakob Wimpheling, Eobanus Hessus, Denis Godefroy, Marquard Freher and Martin Opitz, among others, are represented by their texts. A guarantor for the topicality and relevance of the collection was the widely respected philologist Janus Gruter (1560-1627), who in 1602 became the last librarian of the Bibliotheca Palatina. He meticulously collected academically relevant literature available on the German and European book market.

The Heidelberg Prince Electors also contributed to the growth of the University Library with extensive donations of judicial and medical literature. As representatives of Calvinism, they collected, for example, theological works written or owned by French or Austrian Protestants.

The significant donation of the library of the Augsburg protestant Ulrich Fugger (1526-1584) led to a further increase in both the quality and quantity of the manuscript and book collection. His diversified interests were not limited solely to mercantile literature. His collection included, amongst other texts, writings on astronomy, astrology, zoology and botany. There were also numerous texts in Greek, Slavic and Arabic

The Microfiche Edition of the stampati palatini

Between 1989 and 1996, the Munich publishing house, Saur-Verlag – edited by Leonard Boyle and Elmar Mittler with the financial support of the state of Baden-Württemberg – microfiched all the stampati palatini in Rome and created an alphabetical index. Included in the edition of over 21,000 microfiches and the corresponding catalogue, are both the printed works from various Vatican Library collections, which incorporated the Heidelberg prints in 1623 and since then have continued to store them, as well as prints from other libraries in Rome. They were all compiled according to different criteria, such as binding design, authorship, entries made by Vatican officials, in addition to information from existing directories, catalogues, files and research on individual collections. Titles that have been lost cannot be reconstructed or that, for various reasons cannot be microfiched or published have not been included. Works from the collection which remain in Germany, are also not included in the microfiche. Some of these are also now owned by other libraries, such as Mainz, Darmstadt, Munich, Köln (67 Drucke) and an Otto-Henry volume in the City and Regional Library in Erfurt.

The catalogues of the incunabula and the 16th and 17th century prints are ordered alphabetically in 1 and 2 of the catalogue. The entries detail the author, title, printer or publisher, year of publication, number of pages, original shelf mark, annotations such as, if applicable, the original publication note or associated scripts, in addition to the microfiche number. Copies and other editions of a print are registered, but only differences are shown here. Volume 3 includes the register of shelf marks, microfiches and a chronological register. Volume 4 includes the register of people, the register of printers and publishers alongside their works in alphabetical order and the register of publication and printing locations.

The complete prints are reproduced on microfiches and are arranged according to their current location with records of their use and various bindings, which are important identification marks, especially in the case of the Palatina collection.

Information for users

All microfiche editions of the printed books are recorded in our online catalogue HEIDI. The collection can be found under the shelf mark 89 MA 246 [then choose „Volumes“].

The microfiches are accessible at the Multimedia Centre. The opening hours are Mon-Fri 8:30-22:00 and Sat-Sun 9:00-22:00. The Multimedia Centre staff present the microfiches.

All microfiches are labelled alphanumerically; the title can be found under this individual number, which is also noted in the online catalogue, HEIDI.

The Multimedia Centre has digital reader-printers available for using microforms. Users are able to re-enlarge the microfiches and save the data on USB sticks or CD-ROMs for further processing, free of charge. Individual pages can also be printed out on site for a fee.

© Maria Effinger, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg, 10/2012
Translated by Emily Giles

Further information and literature

Direkt zum Text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Stampati Palatini

Wegen ihrer Bedeutung für die protestantischen Theologen als geistige ‚Rüstkammer’ wurde die Heidelberger Büchersammlung schnell zum Ziel der katholischen Gegenseite. Papst Gregor XV. (amtierend 1621-1623) versuchte daher schon früh, sie der Vatikanischen Bibliothek einzuverleiben. Mit der Eroberung Heidelbergs durch die katholischen Truppen im Herbst 1622 war hierzu die Voraussetzung geschaffen. Nach einer Sichtung aller Bücherbestände in Heidelberg ließ der päpstliche Abgesandte Leone Allacci die ca. 3.700 Handschriften und ca. 13.000 Druckwerke nach Rom abtransportieren, wo sie im August 1623 ankamen. Bis auf die relativ geringe Zahl der deutschsprachigen Handschriften, die infolge der Friedensverhandlungen im Umfeld des Wiener Kongresses 1816 nach Heidelberg zurückgegeben wurden, befinden sich heute noch fast alle nicht-deutschsprachigen, also vor allem die lateinischen und griechischen Manuskripte sowie alle Druckschriften (stampati palatini) dieses Bestandes in der Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana in Rom. Zu den Stampati Palatini wurde von Enrico Stevenson 1886 ein zweibändiges Inventar herausgegeben.

Die Büchersammlung umfasst die wichtigste Literatur in den Bereichen Wissenschaft und Belletristik des 16. und frühen 17. Jahrhunderts. Während im universitären Bereich bereits seit der Universitätsgründung 1386 breit für Studium und Lehre gesammelt wurde, kamen im 17. Jahrhundert die Werke bedeutender zeitgenössischer Gelehrter hinzu. Unter anderem sind Jakob Wimpheling, Eobanus Hessus, Denis Godefroy, Marquard Freher und Martin Opitz mit Texten vertreten. Ein Garant für die Aktualität der Sammlung war seit 1602 der europaweit angesehene Philologe Janus Gruter (1560-1627), der der letzte Bibliothekar der Bibliotheca Palatina werden sollte. Er erwarb systematisch die wissenschaftlich relevante Literatur auf dem deutschen und europäischen Buchmarkt.

Aber auch die Heidelberger Kurfürsten trugen mit umfänglichen Schenkungen u.a. juristischer aber auch medizinischer Literatur zum Wachstum der Heidelberger Universitätsbibliothek bei. Als Vertreter der calvinistischen Glaubensrichtung sammelten sie beispielsweise auch theologische Werke aus der Feder und dem Besitz französischer und österreichischer Protestanten.

Sowohl bei den Handschriften als auch bei den Drucken sorgte die Übergabe der Bibliothek des Augsburger Protestanten Ulrich Fugger (1526-1584) für einen sowohl mengenmäßig als auch qualitativ kaum zu überschätzenden Zuwachs. Sein breit gestreutes Interesse zielte nicht nur auf Kaufmannsliteratur. In seiner Sammlung finden sich u.a. Texte zu Astronomie und Astrologie oder zu Zoologie und Botanik. Auch Schriften in griechischer, slawischer und arabischer Sprache sind zahlreich vertreten.

Die Microfiche-Edition der stampati palatini

In den Jahren 1989 bis 1996 wurden vom Münchner Saur-Verlag – herausgegeben von Leonard Boyle und Elmar Mittler und finanziell gefördert vom Land Baden-Württemberg – alle in Rom befindlichen stampati palatini verficht und mit einem alphabetischen Index versehen. Aufnahme in die über 21.000 Mikrofiches umfassende Edition und damit in den dazugehörigen Katalog fanden sowohl die Druckschriften aus den verschiedenen Sammlungen der Vatikanischen Bibliothek, in die sie nach ihrem Transport nach Rom eingearbeitet worden waren bzw. in die sie nach ihrer Weitergabe als Dubletten dann als Schenkungen zurückgekehrt sind, als auch die Drucke aus anderen römischen Bibliotheken. Sie alle wurden nach unterschiedlichen Kriterien wie Einbandgestaltung, Verfasserschaft, Eintragungen vatikanischer Mitarbeiter, aber auch mit Hilfe vorhandener Verzeichnisse und Kataloge, Akten und Forschungen zu Teilbeständen zusammengestellt. Nicht enthalten sind die abhanden gekommenen und die bislang nicht rekonstruierbaren bzw. aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht verfilmbaren Titel. Außerdem nicht aufgenommen wurden die in Deutschland verbliebenen Reste der Palatina, die sich heute teilweise im Besitz anderer Bibliotheken befinden, so in Mainz, Darmstadt, München, Köln (67 Drucke) und einen Ottheinrich-Band in der Stadt- und Regionalbibliothek Erfurt.

Die Katalogisate der Inkunabeln sowie der Drucke des 16. und des 17. Jahrhunderts sind unter fortlaufender Nummer in einem Alphabet in den Bänden 1 und 2 des Kataloges enthalten. Die Einträge setzen sich jeweils aus Verfasser, Sachtitel, Druckort, Drucker/Verleger, Druckjahr, Blatt-/Seitenzählung, Signatur des Originals, Annotationen wie gegebenenfalls dem Erscheinungsvermerk in Vorlageform oder der Nennung angebundener Schriften sowie aus der Mikrofiche-Nummer zusammen. Mehrfachexemplare und andere Ausgaben eines Druckes wurden aufgenommen, hier allerdings nur die Abweichungen. Band 3 enthält das Register der Signaturen, das Register der Mikrofiches und ein chronologisches Register. In Band 4 folgen das Register der Personen. das Register der Verleger/Drucker mit ihren Werken in alphabetischer Reihenfolge und das Register der Verlags- und Druckorte.

Auf Mikrofiche abgebildet werden, in der Anordnung nach ihrem heutigen Aufstellungsort, die vollständigen Drucke mit ihren Gebrauchsspuren und Einbänden, die gerade bei der Palatina wichtige Identifikationsmerkmale sind.

Hinweise zur Benutzung

Alle Mikroficheausgaben der Druckschriften sind in HEIDI erfasst – Sie finden sie unter der Signatur 89 MA 246 [dort auf „Bände“ klicken].

Die Mikrofiches stehen im MultiMediaZentrum zur Einsicht zur verfügung. Mo-Fr 8:30-22:00 Uhr und Sa-So 9:00-22:00 Uhr werden Ihnen die Mikrofiches von den MitarbeiterInnen des MMZ vorgelegt.

Alle Mikrofiches der Edition werden oben rechts alphanumerisch gekennzeichnet; unter der angegebenen Nummer des Mikrofiche ist der gesuchte Titel auffindbar.

Zur Benutzung von Mikroformen stehen im MMZ digitale Reader-Printer zur Verfügung, mit denen Sie die Möglichkeit haben, die Mikrofiches kostenlos in digitaler Form rückzuvergrößern und die Daten zur Weiterverarbeitung auf mitzubringenden USB-Sticks oder CD-ROMs abzuspeichern. Einzelne Seiten können vor Ort auch kostenpflichtig ausgedruckt werden.

© Maria Effinger, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg, 10/2012

Weiterführende Literatur und Informationen