Right down to the text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Palatine Anthology (Anthologia Palatina)

The Heidelberg Palatine Anthology, Cod. Pal. graec. 23, was most likely created in Constantinople in the 10th century. For the preservation and tradition of Greek literature, this Codex is of as huge importance as the Codex Manesse for medieval German poetry.

The 3,765 epigrams on 614 pages document, through 23,000 verses, over 1600 years of Greek literary history, from its ancient origins in the sixth century BC to the Byzantine 10th century. A considerable number of these poems have only survived within this existing manuscript. The precious parchment Codex is largely based on an older anthology („Blütensammlung“), from the Constantinopolitan court clergyman and scholar Konstantinos Kephalas, which was created in around 900 and which aimed to produce a comprehensive compilation of earlier collections. The thematic diversity of the poetry in the anthology – illness and death, love and eroticism, mythology and Christianity, the working environment of mariners and farmers – neglects to consider hardly any areas of life.

To this day, the medieval history of the Codex remains largely unknown. Like many Greek manuscripts, it most likely came to Italy in the first half of the 15th century. In approximately 1600, the anthology reached Heidelberg and was kept in the famous Bibliotheca Palatina here, from which it received its name, Palatine Anthology (Anthologia Palatina). In 1623, the anthology was brought to the Vatican, alongside the entire Bibliotheca Palatina, where a smaller part of the collection was then separated into a second volume. In 1797, together with 500 other notable Vatican manuscripts, the two sections of the anthology were transported to Paris, on the orders of Napoleon. The first, more extensive volume later returned to Heidelberg in 1816.

(Dr. Veit Probst, Heidelberg University Library, 10/2012)

Digital facsimile:

Anthologia Palatina — Constantinople, late ninth to early 10th century
Part 1 (fol. 1-614): Heidelberg University Library, Cod. Pal. graec. 23
Part 2 (fol. 615-662): Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France, Supplément grec 384

Translated by Emily Giles

Direkt zum Text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Anthologia Palatina

Die Heidelberger Anthologia Palatina Cod. Pal. graec. 23 entstand im 10. Jahrhundert vermutlich in Konstantinopel. Für die Überlieferung der griechischen Literatur ist dieser Codex von ähnlich herausragender Bedeutung wie der Codex Manesse für die mittelalterliche deutsche Lyrik.

Die 3.765 Epigramme auf 614 Seiten dokumentieren mit ihren rund 23.000 Versen über 1600 Jahre griechischer Literaturgeschichte von den archaischen Anfängen im 6. Jahrhundert v. Chr. bis in das byzantinische 10. Jahrhundert. Ein beträchtlicher Teil dieser Gedichte ist ausschließlich in der vorliegenden Handschrift überliefert. Der kostbare Pergamentcodex baut auf der um 900 entstandenen älteren Anthologie („Blütensammlung“) des konstantinopolitanischen Hofgeistlichen und Gelehrten Konstantinos Kephalas auf, der eine vollständige Zusammenführung älterer Sammlungen angestrebt hatte. Die thematische Vielfalt der Gedichte – Krankheit und Tod, Liebe und Erotik, der Mythos und die christliche Religion, die Arbeitswelt von Seeleuten und Bauern – lässt kaum einen Lebensbereich außer acht.

Die mittelalterliche Geschichte des Codex blieb bis heute weitgehend im Dunkeln. Wie viele griechische Handschriften dürfte er in der 1. Hälfte des 15. Jahrhunderts nach Italien gelangt sein. Um 1600 befand sich die Anthologie in der berühmten Heidelberger Bibliotheca Palatina, von der sie ihren Namen erhielt. 1623 mit der gesamten Bibliotheca Palatina in die Vaticana verbracht, wurde dort ein kleinerer Teil der Sammlung in einen 2. Band separiert. Mit 500 anderen bedeutenden vatikanischen Handschriften kamen die beiden Teile der Anthologie 1797 auf Anordnung Napoleons nach Paris, von wo der erste, umfangreichere Band dann 1816 wieder nach Heidelberg zurückgegeben wurde.

(Dr. Veit Probst, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg, 10/2012)

Literatur

  • Anthologia Graeca, hrsg. von Hermann Beckby, 4 Bde., 2. verb. Auflage, München 1965-67
  • Alan Cameron: The Greek Anthology from Meleager to Planudes, Oxford 1993
  • Jean-Louis van Dienten: Zur Herstellung des Codex Palat. Gr. 23/Paris. Suppl. Gr. 384, in: Byzantinische Zeitschrift 86/87 (1993/94), S. 342-362