Navigation überspringen
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Illustrated Nature Books

http://natura.uni-hd.de

Illustration: Grasshoppers and CricketsThe encyclopaedic illustrated nature books of the Middle Ages changed in the early modern period, branching out into numerous specialist areas, such as botany, zoology, geology, etc.

This process was advanced even further in the 18th Century by academics, such as the Swedish researcher Carl von Linné, who introduced systems for the classification of individual species. The world-wide research into Flora and Fauna benefited enormously from the resulting standardised nomenclature. The identification and naming of types and species achieved levels never seen before.

New methods, such as the use of the microscope, allowed research to be carried out in areas where it had previously been impossible.

Essential for the distribution of these new discoveries was their timely publication in richly illustrated works. Some of the most important works of this type, not only scientifically but also in terms of their artistic merit, held by the Library of Heidelberg University, are being successively digitalised and made available online.

RSS RSS-Feed (RSS 2.0)

and
and
and
and


Sort by

Help on using the search


Requests, suggestions and criticism to Brief Dr. Maria Effinger.

zum Seitenanfang

Navigation überspringen
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Illustrierte Tier- und Pflanzenbücher

(http://natura.uni-hd.de)

Illustration: Heuschrecken und Grillen In der Nachfolge der enzyklopädisch angelegten illustrierten Naturbücher des Mittelalters fächerte sich in der Frühen Neuzeit die Naturbeobachtung in zahlreiche Spezialgebiete auf (Botanik, Zoologie, Geologie usw.).

Gelehrte wie der Schwede Carl von Linné trieben diese Entwicklung im 18. Jahrhundert durch die Einführung von Systematiken zur Klassifizierung der einzelnen Arten noch weiter voran. Die hierdurch erreichte einheitliche Nomenklatur erleichterte die weltweite Erforschung von Flora und Fauna erheblich. Die Bestimmung und Benennung neuer Gattungen und Arten erreichte ein bislang nicht gekanntes Ausmaß.

Gestützt auf neue Methoden, wie die Verwendung des Mikroskops, gelang es der Forschung außerdem, mit ihren Untersuchungen in vormals unerreichbare Bereiche vorzustoßen.

Zur Verbreitung der neu erlangten Erkenntnisse war allerdings eine möglichst zeitnahe Veröffentlichung in meist reich illustrierten Tafelwerken unerlässlich. Einige der wissenschaftsgeschichtlich bedeutendsten aber auch künstlerisch anspruchvollsten Werke dieser Art aus dem Besitz der Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg werden sukzessive digitalisiert und online verfügbar gemacht.

und
und
und
und

Sortierung nach

Hilfe zur Recherche


Fragen, Anregungen und Kritik bitte an Brief Dr. Maria Effinger.


i Weitere Informationen:
Friedrich Johann Justin Bertuch: Bilderbuch für Kinder – digital

zum Seitenanfang