Navigation überspringen
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

The Exhibition Catalogues of the Prussian Academy of the Arts (1786‐1943)

From 1786 to 1943, art exhibitions organised by the Prussian Academy of Arts were a key medium of artistic and cultural life in Berlin for many years, enjoying recognition throughout Germany. They provided artists from Berlin and beyond with their first opportunity to show and sell their work here.

The exhibitions were documented in catalogues from 1786 onward. These rare directories provide detailed information about the participating artists, many of whom were members or students of the Academy, about art collectors and the works that were exhibited and available for sale. From 1879, they also included illustrations of selected works. Chronicles of the history of the Academy (1786–1892 in the catalogues, 1893–1910 as a separate publication), information on the exhibitions and advertisements by the art trade complement the catalogues. These written records provide information on academic training, programmatic issues, personal details of the members, art scholarships and acquisitions for the collections, summarise previous exhibitions and give insights into the Berlin art scene. The form, scope and content of the catalogues changed considerably over the course of time. A distinction can be made between the following series:

  1. Exhibitions by the Academy of Arts 1786–1892
  2. The Great Berlin Art Exhibition 1893–1943
  3. Spring and autumn exhibitions by the Academy of Arts 1919–1943
  4. Special exhibitions by the Academy of Arts 1885–1943
  5. Chronicle of the Academy of Arts 1893–1910

The systematic categorisation and dating of individual works make the catalogues particularly valuable for source and provenance research today.

The presentation is a joint project by Heidelberg University Library and the Akademie der Künste, Berlin. Heidelberg University Library is responsible for the digitisation, online provision and long-term archiving of over 200 exhibition catalogues that describe an estimated 80,000 works by approximately 12,000 artists, thus facilitating a full-text search for all content. The Akademie der Künste is responsible for the conceptual design, central procurement and provision of the catalogues. The project is funded by Forschungs- und Kompetenzzentrum Digitalisierung Berlin (digiS) (DFG).

Research and browsing access

RSS RSS-Feed (RSS 2.0)

and
and
and
and


Sort by

Help on using the search

Overview by:

Contact

Brief Susanne Nagel
Bibliothek / Akademie der Künste Berlin

Brief Dr. Maria Effinger
Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg

digiSProjektlogo 'Akademie der Künste'Logo 'Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa'
zum Seitenanfang

Navigation überspringen
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Die Ausstellungskataloge der Preußischen Akademie der Künste (1786‐1943)

Die von 1786 bis 1943 stattfindenden Kunstausstellungen der Preußischen Akademie der Künste waren über lange Zeit ein Leitmedium des Berliner Kunst- und Kulturlebens und genossen deutschlandweit Anerkennung. Hier hatten Berliner und auswärtige Künstlerinnen und Künstler erstmals die Möglichkeit, ihre Werke zu zeigen und zu veräußern.

Das Ausstellungsgeschehen wurde seit 1786 in Katalogen dokumentiert. Die seltenen Verzeichnisse bieten genaue Angaben über die beteiligten Künstler, viele davon Mitglieder oder Schüler der Akademie, über Kunstsammler sowie die ausgestellten und zum Verkauf stehenden Werke. Seit 1879 sind auch Abbildungen von ausgewählten Werken enthalten. Chroniken zur Akademiegeschichte (1786‐1892 in den Katalogen, 1893‐1910 als Separatdruck), Informationen zu den Ausstellungen und Werbeinserate des Kunsthandels ergänzen die Kataloge. Die chronikalischen Nachrichten informieren über die akademische Ausbildung, programmatische Fragen, Personalia der Mitglieder, Kunststipendien und Erwerbungen für die Sammlungen, resümieren die vergangenen Ausstellungen und geben Einblicke in das Berliner Kunstgeschehen. Gestalt, Umfang und Inhalt der Kataloge änderten sich in Laufe der Zeit erheblich. Folgende Serien lassen sich unterscheiden:

  1. Ausstellungen der Akademie der Künste 1786‐1892
  2. Große Berliner Kunstausstellung 1893‐1943
  3. Frühjahrs– und Herbstausstellungen der Akademie der Künste 1919‐1943
  4. Sonder-Ausstellungen der Akademie der Künste 1885‐1943
  5. Chronik der Akademie der Künste 1893‐1910

Aufgrund der systematischen Zuordnung und Datierung einzelner Werke sind die Kataloge besonders wertvoll für die heutige Quellen- und Provenienzforschung.

Die Präsentation ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg und der Akademie der Künste, Berlin. Die Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg ist für die Digitalisierung, Online-Bereitstellung und Langzeitarchivierung von über 200 Ausstellungskatalogen verantwortlich, die schätzungsweise 80.000 Werke von ca. 12.000 Künstlerinnen und Künstler beschreiben und ermöglicht somit eine Volltextrecherche für alle Inhalte. Konzeption, Mittelbeschaffung und Bereitstellung der Kataloge erfolgten durch die Akademie der Künste. Das Projekt wird vom Forschungs- und Kompetenzzentrum Digitalisierung Berlin (digiS) (DFG) gefördert.

Recherche und Browsingeinstieg

RSS Neuerscheinungen (RSS 2.0)

und
und
und
und


Sortierung nach

Hilfe zur Recherche

Kontakt

Brief Susanne Nagel
Bibliothek / Akademie der Künste Berlin

Brief Dr. Maria Effinger
Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg

digiSProjektlogo 'Akademie der Künste'Logo 'Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa'
zum Seitenanfang