Navigation überspringen
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Bibliotheca Cicognara – digitized

Cicognara, Leopoldo: Catalogo ragionato dei libri d'arte e d'antichità posseduti dal Conte Cicognara

The private book collection of the Italian art collector, patron and art historiographer Leopoldo Cicognara (1767-1834) is one of the most remarkable private libraries founded in the early 19th century on archaeology, art and cultural history. The collection is a source of inestimable value for the historiography of art and culture in general.

Cicognara’s diverse and multiple book collection consisted of more than 5,000 titles of primarily Italian, Latin, English as well as French works from the 16th to the 19th century. Amongst these are not only biographies of artists and poets, iconographical studies, tractates on architecture and sculpture but also handbooks on drawing, architecture and painting as well as collection guides, writings on aesthetics, dictionaries on architecture, studies of costumes, emblematics, numismatics as well as literature on Greek and Roman Antiquity. In 1821 Cicognara published his two volume inventory of the entire collection with the title Catalogo ragionato dei libri d'arte e d'antichità posseduti dal Conte Cicognara (Pisa, 1821).

The private library was bought by the Vatican Library in 1824, where it is held until today as the “Fondo Cicognara”. In a collaborative effort launched in 1989 by the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana and the University of Illinois Library funded by the Samuel H. Kress Foundation the entire “Fondo Cicognara” was filmed and later published as a microfiche-edition.

Over 6,000 microfiches have been catalogued by Heidelberg University Library and are searchable in the local online catalogue HEIDI, the SWB (Union Catalog of the South West German Library Consortium) and via arthistoricum.net. All titles are also available via interlibrary loan.

In order to provide easy and unrestricted access to the Bibliotheca Cicognara, Heidelberg University Library is gradually digitizing all volumes from its collection and making them available online.

Heidelberg University Library is partner in the international cooperation "The Digital Cicognara Library: An Open-Access Collection of the Early Literature of the Arts"

Search and Browse

RSS RSS-Feed (RSS 2.0)

and
and
and
and


Sort by

Help on using the search

Overview by:

If you are interested in a certain title from our collection, we will be glad to prioritise its digitizsation.
Contact

Further literature and information on Leopoldo Cicognara can also be found in our thematic portal with primary sources on the History of Art History.

zum Seitenanfang

Navigation überspringen
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Die Bibliotheca Cicognara – digital

Abbildung: Cicognara, Leopoldo: Catalogo ragionato dei libri d'arte e d'antichità posseduti dal Conte Cicognara

Die private Büchersammlung des italienischen Kunstsammlers, Mäzens und Kunsthistoriographen Leopoldo Cicognara (1767-1834) ist eine der bedeutendsten, im frühen 19. Jahrhundert entstandenen, Privatbibliotheken zur Archäologie, Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte und bis heute für die Kunst- und Kulturgeschichtsschreibung eine Quelle von unschätzbarem Wert.

Cicognaras äußerst vielseitige Büchersammlung von mehr als 5.000 Titeln besteht aus vornehmlich italienischen, lateinischen, englischen sowie französischen Werken des 16.-19. Jahrhunderts. Hierunter befinden sich sowohl Biographien von Künstlern und Dichtern, ikonographische Studien, Traktate zur Architektur und Bildhauerei als auch Anweisungen zur Zeichen- und Baukunst sowie Malerei, Sammlungsführer, Schriften zur Ästhetik, Wörterbücher zur Architektur, Kostümstudien, Emblematica, Numismatica sowie Literatur zu griechischen und römischen Antiken. 1821 erschien das zweibändige Inventar der Büchsersammlung.

Die Privatbibliothek wurde 1824 von der Vatikanischen Bibliothek erworben, zu deren Beständen sie bis heute gehört ("Fondo Cicognara"). Im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Projektes der "Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana" und der "University of Illinois Library" begann man 1989 den gesamten Bestand zu verfilmen und als Mikrofiche-Edition herauszugeben.

Für alle der mehr als 6.000 in der Mikrofiche-Edition enthaltenen Titel wurden in der UB Heidelberg Einzelnachweise, erstellt die über den lokalen Katalog HEIDI, den südwestdeutschen Bibliotheksverbund (SWB) und über arthistoricum.net komplett recherchierbar sind. Alle Titel stehen auch für die überregionale Fernleihe zur Verfügung.

Um einen komfortablen und uneingeschränkten Zugang zu den Werken der Bibliotheca Cicognara zu ermöglichen, stellt die UB Heidelberg die in ihrem Bestand gedruckt vorliegenden Titel nach und nach auch in digitalisierter Version online zur Verfügung.

Die UB Heidelberg ist Partner im internationalen Kooperationsprojekt "The Digital Cicognara Library: An Open-Access Collection of the Early Literature of the Arts"

Recherche

RSS Neuerscheinungen (RSS 2.0)

Trefferanzeige nach Cicognaras thematischer Ordnung:

    Hilfe zur Recherche

    Als Orientierung bieten wir Ihnen die Inhaltsverzeichnisse des 1821 von Cicognara selbst verfassten Inventars Catalogo ragionato dei libri d’arte e d’antichità als Browsingeinstieg. Hierüber finden Sie die bereits online frei verfügbaren Titel nach der von Cicognara vorgenommenen thematischen Ordnung.

    i Weitere Informationen

    zum Seitenanfang