Right down to the text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Bibliotheca Palatina – The Story of a World-Famous Library

Beginnings

The origins of the Bibliotheca Palatina, the state library of the Palatinate, date back to the founding of Heidelberg University in 1386. In the wake of the University's establishment libraries grew up around the high Faculties of Theology, Law and Medicine, in addition to the less elevated Artists' Library. Other institutions, originally independent, were gradually absorbed into the Bibliotheca Palatina as time went on: the so-called Abbey Library, donated in the will of Louis III, and the private book collections of the Electors out of Heidelberg Castle. It was during the reign of the book-loving Elector Otto-Henry that these disparate inventories were first united, in the galleries of the Heiliggeistkirche (Church of the Holy Spirit). The sack of Heidelberg during the Thirty Years' War, in 1622, brought a temporary end to the then most renowned and important collection of books in all of Germany.

'Frau Welt' aus Hugo von Montfort (Cod. Pal. germ. 329)

Importance and Contents

Not least thanks to the great array of theological (chiefly Protestant) literature that it contained, this treasure trove of manuscripts was lauded far and wide as 'the mother of all libraries' during its heyday in the 16th and 17th centuries. Notably, its riches made it an object of great desire for the Catholic factions in the Thirty Years' War: early on in the conflict Pope Gregory XV had made it very clear that, in the event of a military victory over the Palatinate (which had become a spearhead of the Protestant Union under its Elector Frederick V, now crowned as the “Winter King”), he would demand the surrender of the entire library and take it away as spoils of war. Duke Maximilian I of Bavaria belonged to the same aristocratic family as the Palatine Electors, the House of Wittelsbach – but in the war he stood against them as a member of the Catholic League, and he was unable to oppose such a firm decision by his commander-in-chief and primary financial sponsor.

Cod Pal. germ. 471: Hugo von Trimberg: Der Renner - 'Tafel der christlichen Weisheit'

The Journey to Rome and Storage in the Vatican

And so it was that Leo Allatius, the Scriptor for Greek at the Vatican Library, found himself in Heidelberg in the December of 1622. Following the capture of the Palatinate and Heidelberg by the Count of Tilly, Allatius had been instructed to organise the Bibliotheca Palatina for transportation to Rome. It was a task that would only take him until January to complete. Even more impressive than this, as he himself boasted, was that the Pope had sent him to fetch one library... but he was coming home with three. As well as the books in the Heiliggeistkirche – the 'actual' Bibliotheca Palatina – he had also secured stores from the Castle and, consequently, the private library of the Electors and various books belonging to the University. Not even the personal collection of the Palatina's last librarian, Jan Gruter, was safe from him in his zeal. Just as Pope Gregory had wanted, Allatius had his hands on the combined literary wealth of the entire Palatinate. He set out for Rome in mid-February of 1623, taking the books via Munich, where Maximilian – now an Elector – had them fitted with specially-made bookplates.

Packed into 196 crates and carried by mules, the treasure of Heidelberg began its perilous journey over the Alps. Delays caused by the weather meant that it took until May 25th for the convoy to reach Lake Como. Even on Italian soil it made but slow progress: the Pope died in July, which meant a long wait for any financial recompense for the cost of the trip. In the end, the Vatican took possession of 184 crates of books (Allatius had set 12 crates aside for himself) on August 9th, 1623: the journey had taken almost six months. Upon arriving in their new home, the manuscripts and prints of the 'Bibliotheca Palatina' were split up and sorted into the pre-existing categories of the Vatican's collection. The Latin, Greek, German and Hebrew manuscripts were, however, shelved separately and assigned special catalogue codes: Cod. Pal. lat. (Codex Palatinus latinus), Cod. Pal. graec. (Codex Palatinus graecus), Cod. Pal. germ. (Codex Palatinus germanicus) and Cod. Pal. ebr. (Codex Palatinus ebraicus).

Attempts at Recovery; A Part of the Library Returns To Heidelberg

In the following two centuries, repeated attempts were made by various parties to bring the texts of the Bibliotheca Palatina back to Heidelberg. Yet it was only in the aftermath of another great European war that at least the 847 German-language manuscripts could be returned to their old home: in 1816, by means of a settlement made during the Congress of Vienna. They were brought to the main University building, the so-called 'Domus Wilhelmiana' (today known as the Old University), which at that time was also serving as the University library. To this day, apart from 29 Greek and 16 Latin codices, the rest of the non-German manuscripts and all the prints reside in the vaults of the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana in Rome.

The world-famous 'Great Heidelberg Songbook', also known as the Codex Manesse, was probably among the personal effects that Frederick V took with him when he fled. It never found its way to Rome, and was returned to its old resting-place in Heidelberg, by a somewhat convoluted route, in 1888. Since then it has been in the care of the University Library, and remains one of its greatest treasures (Cod. Pal. germ. 848).

© Karin Zimmermann, Maria Effinger, Heidelberg University Library, October 2012

Translated by David Ennever

Direkt zum Text
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Die Bibliotheca Palatina – Schicksale einer weltberühmten Bibliothek

Die Anfänge

Die Ursprünge der Bibliotheca Palatina, der Pfälzischen Landbibliothek, reichen bis in das Jahr 1386 zurück, als die Universität Heidelberg gegründet wurde. Im Gefolge der Universitätsgründung entstanden neben der Bibliothek der Artisten auch diejenigen der drei höheren Fakultäten Theologie, Jura und Medizin. Weitere, ursprünglich eigenständige Institutionen, die im Laufe der Zeit in der Bibliotheca Palatina aufgingen, waren die auf das Testament Kurfürst Ludwigs III. zurückgehende, sogenannte Stiftsbibliothek und die privaten Büchersammlungen der Kurfürsten auf dem Heidelberger Schloss. Erst unter dem bibliophilen Kurfürsten Ottheinrich waren diese Bestände auf den Emporen der Heiliggeistkirche vereinigt worden. Ihr vorläufiges Ende brachte der zu ihrer Zeit berühmtesten und bedeutendsen Büchersammlung Deutschlands die Eroberung Heidelbergs während des Dreißigjährigen Kriegs im Jahr 1622.

'Frau Welt' aus Hugo von Montfort (Cod. Pal. germ. 329)

Bedeutung und Inhalte

Nicht zuletzt wegen der großen Masse theologischer, und hier überwiegend protestantischer Literatur, die er beherbergte, war dieser Bücherhort zur Zeit seiner Blüte im 16. und 17. Jahrhundert als „Mutter aller Bibliotheken“ weithin gerühmt. Vor allem diese Bestände machten ihn zu einem von katholischer Seite sehr begehrten Objekt: Papst Gregor XV. hatte schon früh deutlich zum Ausdruck gebracht, dass er bei einem kriegerischen Erfolg über die Pfalz, die mit ihrem zum „Winterkönig“ gekrönten Kurfürsten Friedrich V. zur Speerspitze der Protestantischen Union geworden war, die Übergabe der gesamten Bibliothek und ihre Wegführung als Kriegsbeute verlangen würde. Herzog Maximilian I. von Bayern, der wie die Pfälzer Kurfürsten dem Adelsgeschlecht der Wittelsbacher angehörte, aber im Krieg als Mitglied der Katholischen Liga auf deren Gegenseite stand, konnte sich diesem dezidierten Wunsch seines Kriegsherrn und hauptsächlichen Geldgebers nicht widersetzen.

Cod Pal. germ. 471: Hugo von Trimberg: Der Renner - 'Tafel der christlichen Weisheit'

Der Weg nach Rom und die Aufbewahrung im Vatikan

So geschah es, dass sich nach der Einnahme der Pfalz und Heidelbergs durch den Feldherrn Tilly der Scriptor für Griechisch an der Vatikanischen Bibliothek, Leone Allacci, im Dezember des Jahres 1622 in Heidelberg einfand, um den Abtransport der Bücher nach Rom zu organisieren. Bereits im Januar 1623 konnte er den Vollzug seines Auftrags melden. Und sogar mehr als das: Er selbst rühmte sich, er sei geschickt worden, eine Bibliothek zu holen, er bringe aber drei. Neben der Bibliothek in der Heiliggeistkirche – der eigentlichen „Bibliotheca Palatina“ – war es ihm nämlich gelungen auch an die Bestände auf dem Schloss und somit die Privatbibliothek der Pfälzer Kurfürsten und an Bücher der Universität zu gelangen. Auch vor dem privaten Bücherbesitz des letzten Bibliothekars der Palatina, Jan Gruter, machte sein „Sammeleifer“ nicht halt. Wie von Papst Gregor XV. gewünscht, war es Allacci gelungen, den gesamten Schatz der pfälzischen Bücher an sich zu bringen. Auf dem Weg über München, wo die Bücher mit extra angefertigten Exlibris des frisch mit der Kurwürde belehnten Maximilian versehen wurden, machte man sich Mitte Februar 1623 nach Rom auf.

Verpackt in 196 Kisten und getragen von Maultieren begann der Bücherschatz seine gefahrvolle Reise über die Alpen. Witterungsbedingte Verzögerungen ließen den Zug erst am 25. Mai 1623 am Comer See angelangen. Auch innerhalb Italiens kam man nur langsam vorwärts. Aufgrund des Todes von Papst Gregor XV. im Juli des Jahres musste man lange auf die Zahlung der Transportkosten warten. So konnte die Übernahme der 184 Kisten durch den Vatikan – 12 Kisten hatte Allacci für sich abgezweigt – erst am 9. August 1623 erfolgen. Somit hatte der Transport fast sechs Monate gedauert. Angelangt in ihrer neuen Heimat wurden die Handschriften und Drucke der „Bibliotheca Palatina“ zu einem Teil in die vor Ort vorhandenen Bestände einsortiert. Die lateinischen, griechischen, deutschen und hebräischen Handschriften jedoch wurden getrennt aufgestellt. Es entstanden die Signaturengruppen: Cod. Pal. lat. (Codex Palatinus latinus), Cod. Pal. graec. (Codex Palatinus graecus), Cod. Pal. germ. (Codex Palatinus germanicus) und Cod. Pal. ebr. (Codex Palatinus ebraicus).

Versuche der Rückgewinnung und Rückkehr eines Teils der Bibliothek nach Heidelberg

In den folgenden, knapp zwei Jahrhunderten, wurde von verschiedenen Seiten immer wieder versucht, die Bestände der „Bibliotheca Palatina“ nach Heidelberg zurückzuführen. Doch erst im Anschluss an einen weiteren, großen europäischen Krieg konnten durch Vereinbarungen, die während des Wiener Kongresses getroffen worden waren, zumindest die 847 deutschsprachigen Handschriften im Jahre 1816 in ihre alte Bibliotheksheimat zurückkehren, damals noch in das auch als Universitätsbibliothek fungierende Universitätshauptgebäude, die "Domus Wilhelmiana" (heute die "Alte Universität"). Bis auf 29 griechische und 16 lateinische Codices liegen alle übrigen, nicht deutschsprachigen Handschriften und sämtliche Drucke noch heute in den Tresoren der Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana in Rom.

Die weltberühmte „Große Heidelberger Liederhandschrift“, auch „Codex Manesse“ genannt, die sich wohl im persönlichen Fluchtgepäck Kurfürst Friedrichs V. befunden hatte und daher nicht nach Rom gelangt war, konnte erst im Jahr 1888 auf verschlungenen Wegen an ihren früheren Aufbewahrungsort Heidelberg zurückkehren und wird dort seitdem als besonderer Schatz in der Universitätsbibliothek aufbewahrt (Cod. Pal. germ. 848).

© Karin Zimmermann, Maria Effinger, Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg, 10/2012